Introduction

“Ahhh.”

 

I’ve grown accustomed to hearing this uttered on a constant basis due to the plethora of discoveries that Technos International Week visitors and Technos students have been making together. Although it takes many of us some time to understand one another because of our different cultural backgrounds, we all share one particular blissful feeling when we come to the realization that our message has been received and a conversation is proceeding. It’s so interesting to see the vast differences in customs and and habits that govern our lives and the similarities that can still be seen amongst them. Just last night I was speaking to my roommate about how while talking to some of the Japanese Technos students he would sometimes not know how to word questions of music in an easily decipherable way. He would then resort to simply mentioning the names of some American musicians he listened to and be amazed when they were familiar with names that the average American may not even be aware existed.

The introduction ceremony was extraordinary. All of the international students were so nervous as they were waiting in the wings to go out onto the red carpet and into the huge crowd. Our faces and school’s were about to be seen on a huge jumbo tron. As I looked out through the windows though, heard the music blasting and Technos dancing, it was quite clear that they were having fun. Why not relax and have some fun with them?

Image

 

After we ran down the red carpet jumping and screaming we proceeded up the stairs. I saw a lot of the Technos international students standing off to the side. I began to walk toward them but I was instantly swarmed by a group of friends asking for pictures. This continued for about 15 more minutes. When one person would take a picture, their ask for one… then their friends… and so on. It was surprising, but it was fun =). I met quite a few really cool people that day… Including… Tiger San

Image

Although we can barely understand each other when we talk. We both like to have fun and be goofy so we always end up laughing. He came to dinner with us a couple of nights ago. There was a huge pitcher of orange juice on a table at one point that people were using to pour themselves drinks. He raised the end of the pitcher to his lips, drank a few big gulps, set it back down on the table and said, “Enjoy!”. LOL. That is the funniest thing I have ever seen anyone do at a dinner table.

I wonder if he is going to the mountains with us today… I suppose I will find out soon… The thought reminds me that I really need to get ready to leave. I’ll try to update again as soon as I have time. We try to fill our days as much as we can because we all just love to explore and experience every aspect of Japan whenever we have the opportunity to. Time for me to prepare myself for my next voyage of exploration. I hope you are all well, and I will speak with you soon.

Stephen

 

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Chris Bahr
    Jun 04, 2013 @ 22:35:58

    Stephen, it sounds like you are a rock star in Japan! Glad to hear that you’re enjoying the opportunity to meet new friends and learn about how they live. It sounds fascinating! Thanks so much for giving us a glimpse.

    Reply

  2. Marcia
    Jun 08, 2013 @ 02:16:03

    Hey bro! I’m glad to see you’re having a good time. Living vicariously through you is helping me fulfill my dreams of international travel. Lol. I can’t wait to hear all about it. Love ya.

    Reply

  3. Dr. Darryn Diuguid
    Jun 10, 2013 @ 18:56:22

    You are definitely enjoying the experience! Continue to make every minute count!
    Have fun!

    Dr. D.

    Reply

  4. Sarah Klucker
    Jun 12, 2013 @ 15:34:25

    Not only do you sound like a rock star, it looks like from the pictures that you’re being treated like a rock star as well. So glad you’re there and enjoying the experience and posting cool stories/photos for all of us to see!!!

    Reply

  5. Lisa Brennan
    Jun 12, 2013 @ 18:47:54

    Love to hear you are having fun with the entire experience. Your new OJ drinking friend sounds like a hoot!

    Reply

  6. Christina Harris
    Jun 12, 2013 @ 22:08:04

    Great post bro! Sounds like you’re having a great time. Continue to enjoy the once in a lifetime experience. Give us another post when you can, would love to hear how this week is going : ) Love you!

    Reply

  7. Melissa Barfield
    Jun 17, 2013 @ 12:59:24

    Sounds like a great time Stephen! I can’t wait to hear all about it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

